New BAVS Prize for a Second Monograph

**Please note: these revised rules of 4 September 2020 replace those circulated previously.***

The British Association for Victorian Studies (BAVS) is delighted to announce its new Book Prize!

Unlike other book prizes, this is specifically intended to honour the work of mid-career Victorianists in all disciplines who publish a monograph in 2020. The Prize will draw the attention of the Victorian Studies community to important new work which will be celebrated at the BAVS conference. The Prize also represents a celebration of the monograph as a form. Full rules are below.

Judges: Dr. Charlotte Boyce, Professor Rohan McWilliam (Chair), Dr. Jo Parsons.


This is a prize awarded by the British Association for Victorian Studies (BAVS) which is intended for mid-career scholars. The winning book will be the second book by a scholar.

Eligible contenders must have published a scholarly work in Victorian Studies between 1 January 2020 and 31 January 2021. In order to submit, an author has to be a paid up member of BAVS on 1 February 2021. This will be checked. Members of BAVS outside the UK can enter books for the prize. Applicants for the prize do not need to have a university post.

The work needs to be a scholarly monograph in Victorian Studies (multi-authored books of articles will not be acceptable but joint-authored monographs will be and the prize can be shared). We will not accept scholarly editions of Victorian texts, neo-Victorian novels or websites.

We will accept monograph studies devoted to the long nineteenth century (broadly defined) but will also accept texts that deal with neo-Victorian Studies as well. The work in question does need to have some post-1830 content (up to 1914). The prize is open to scholars in any discipline that deals with nineteenth century Britain (including Britain’s relationship with the wider world).

Publishers or authors may nominate a book. A covering letter (either by the author or the publisher) must indicate the name and publication details of the author’s first book. We accept that the author’s first book may not have been in Victorian Studies: they simply have to have published an earlier book. If publishers or authors wish to check if a work is eligible or not, they should email before 31 January 2021. The covering letter should be attached to an email to the Chair Rohan McWilliam at the above address. The judges will need to be provided with THREE hard copies of the nominated work (paperback copies are acceptable). The postal addresses of the three judges will be forwarded upon receipt of the cover letter.

The final deadline for receipt of books is 15 February 2021. Volumes received after that date will not be eligible and will not be returned. It is the responsibility of authors to make sure that publishers send over copies of the book. We do not expect authors to pay for copies and take no responsibility for this. Books sent for consideration will not be returned. Dispatch of the books by authors or publishers grants BAVS ownership of them.

The prize winner will be announced in mid-May and will be expected to attend the following BAVS conference (conference fee, accommodation and travel expenses will be paid by BAVS). A panel will be devoted to the prize winning book. A number of people will offer responses to the volume and the author will respond.

The cash prize: £500. If a monograph is joint-authored, the prize money will be divided between the authors.

All judges are required to declare any conflict of interest.

The Judges’s decision is final.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s