The BAVS/Rosemary Mitchell Prize for a Second Monograph 2022

Judges: Dr. Charlotte Boyce, Professor Rohan McWilliam (Chair), Dr. Jo Parsons


This is a prize awarded by the British Association for Victorian Studies (BAVS) which is intended for mid-career scholars. The winning book will be the second book by a scholar.

Eligible contenders must have published a scholarly work in Victorian Studies between 31 January 2021 and 15 February 2022. In order to submit, an author has to be a paid up member of BAVS on 15 February 2022 (please note: this will be checked). Members of BAVS outside the UK can enter books for the prize. Applicants for the prize do not need to have a university post. Current members of the BAVS executive are not eligible to submit.

The work needs to be a scholarly monograph in Victorian Studies (multi-authored books of articles will not be acceptable but joint-authored monographs will be). We will not accept scholarly editions of Victorian texts, neo-Victorian novels or websites.

We will accept monograph studies devoted to the long nineteenth century (broadly defined) but will also accept texts that deal with neo-Victorian Studies as well. The work in question does need to have some post-1830 content (up to 1914). The prize is open to scholars in any discipline that deals with nineteenth century Britain (including Britain’s relationship with the wider world).

Publishers or authors may nominate a book. A covering letter (either by the author or the publisher) must indicate the name and publication details of the author’s first book. We accept that the author’s first book may not have been in Victorian Studies: they simply have to have published an earlier scholarly monograph. If publishers or authors wish to check if a work is eligible or not, they should email before 11 February 2022. The covering letter can be sent separately by email (to the Chair Rohan McWilliam) if desired.

The judges will need to be provided with THREE hard copies of the nominated work (paperback copies are acceptable). IMPORTANT: The author/publisher needs to email with details of the book. Rohan McWilliam will then provide the addresses that the author/publisher needs to send the books to.

The final deadline for receipt of books is 15 February 2022. Volumes received after that date will not be eligible and will not be returned. It is the responsibility of authors to make sure that publishers send over copies of the book. We do not expect authors to pay for copies and take no responsibility for this. Books sent for consideration will not be returned. Dispatch of the books by authors or publishers grants BAVS ownership of them.

The prize winner will be announced in mid-June and will be expected to attend the following BAVS conference (conference fee, accommodation and travel expenses will be paid by BAVS) in August 2022. A panel will be devoted to the prize winning book. A number of people will offer responses to the volume and the author will respond.

The cash prize: £500. If a monograph is joint-authored, the prize money will be divided between the authors.

All judges are required to declare any conflict of interest.

The Judges’s decision is final.

The Prize is named after the late Professor/Reverend Rosemary Mitchell (1967-2021). Rosemary was a brilliant scholar who served on the board of BAVS. Her superb work which covered history, literature and art history, embodied the interdisciplinary project for which BAVS stands. Naming the Prize after her serves as an inspiration to Victorianists well into the future.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s